Outstanding Lee’s Summit students honored

April 12, 2013 

Prairie Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution annual President’s Awards and Honors Tea was held at their February meeting. Outstanding students, teachers and volunteers in community service are recognized each year.

Madelyn Mahurin, 8th grade student Summit Christian Academy, was honored as the Prairie Chapter American History Essay Contest winner.

Ciara Harvey, Senior at Lees Summit High School, was honored as the Prairie Chapter Good Citizen Essay Contest winner; the highest honor given for a student. Mr. Duane Fleck was honored as Prairie Chapter Outstanding American History

Teacher. Mr. Fleck teaches at Lees Summit High School.

Students applying for the Roberta A. Capps American History Scholarship were Haleigh Greening, Dominick Hall, Jessica Rhoades. Applying for the Missouri State Society Daughters of the American Revolution are Jessica Rhoades and Malaya Thies. Elizabeth Brock applied for the Nash Music Scholarship and played the violin for the assembly. Scholarship applicants and other recipients were forwarded to the Missouri State Society for further judging.

Lee's Summit Journal is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service