Lee’s Summit City Council to elect mayor pro-tempore

rpulley@lsjournal.comApril 17, 2013 

The Lee’s Summit Council is scheduled to elect a mayor pro-tempore at its April 18 meeting.

The mayor pro-tempore leads meetings and makes decisions for the city when the mayor is absent or incapacitated. In Lee’s Summit, the mayor pro-tempore also appoints committee members and assigns issues to committees.

Currently elected as mayor pro-tempore is Councilmember Allan Gray.

The council also is to hear a status report on proposed improvements for permitting and installation of solar-power systems for homes and businesses in Lee’s Summit and vote on an ordinance approving a Missouri 150 Corridor with an overlay that calls for sustainable features for new developments.

Mayor Randy Rhoads is also making appointments to boards and commissions.

He is appointing Frank White III to replace Daren Fristoe on the Planning Commission, who is taking a job with the city, and reappointing Colene Roberts and Fred DeMoro to the commission.

Other appointments and re-appointments are Cheryl Orr to the Health Education Advisory Board; Mary Conkling and Mike Ford, the Housing Authority; Lance Dillenschneider to the Jackson County Board of Equalization, Hope Davis and Melinda Aulenbach, to the Parks and Recreation Board; Clinton Fields, Dorothy Hedrick and Drayton Riley to the Public Safety Advisory Board; Cynda Rader, Glen Jones, Karl Blumenhorst and Chuck Owsley to the License Tax Review Committee.

Lee's Summit Journal is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service