Lee’s Summit R-7 School District honors retiring staff members at annual reception

May 8, 2013 

A total of 54 retiring staff members were recognized May 2 at the annual retirement reception for the Lee’s Summit R-7 School District.

The event recognized employees who are retiring this school year as well as those who retired after the 2012 retirement reception.

The 54 employees recognized had a total of more than 1,070 years of service with the school district.

Retiring staff members recognized at the May 2 event were Collene Akard, Lee’s Summit North High School teacher; Jean Barker, Pleasant Lea Middle School teacher; Trish Barnard, Lee’s Summit North High School library media specialist; Marilyn Bowman, R-7 bus aide; Cheryl Bramlette, Lee’s Summit North High School assistant principal/activities and athletics; Pat Bridgwater, Hawthorn Hill Elementary paraprofessional; Bill Bruce, R-7 distribution supervisor; Vicki Campbell, Mason Elementary secretary; Merilee Clagett, Lee’s Summit North High School teacher; Brenda Dumler, Lee’s Summit West High School teacher; Barbara Etem, Trailridge Elementary Nutrition Services; Sue Gailey, Prairie View Elementary teacher; Peggy Gianino, Cedar Creek Elementary Nutrition Services; Kelly Gillespie, Prairie View Elementary teacher; Gary Groening, R-7 coordinator of occupational and physical therapy; Karen Hackett, Prairie View Elementary teacher; Bonnie Hammack, Lee’s Summit West High School secretary; Carol Head, Hawthorn Hill Elementary Nutrition Services; Jay Helland, R-7 Facilities executive director; Bruce Holder, Lee’s Summit High School teacher; Ginger Hughes, Pleasant Lea Elementary teacher; Laura Jackson, Summit Lakes Middle School teacher; Clare Kapperman, Lee’s Summit West High School teacher; Diana Kessler, Cedar Creek Elementary playground supervisor; Joe Knobbe, R-7 bus driver; Dolly Lancaster, Pleasant Lea Middle School crew leader; Cathy Lilleston, Bernard Campbell Middle School cafeteria manager; Steve Magee, Lee’s Summit West High School teacher; Janice Mandl, Stansberry Leadership Center Business Services specialist; Paulla Martin, R-7 technology specialist; Karen Merrigan, Highland Park Elementary/Great Beginnings Early Education Center special education coordinator; Marilyn Moore, Highland Park Elementary custodian; Debra Moxley, Lee’s Summit North High School teacher; Orville Newberry, R-7 bus driver; Lisa Nichols, Meadow Lane Elementary speech/language pathologist; Candy Novotney, Cedar Creek Elementary principal’s secretary; Connie Payne, Stansberry Leadership Center payroll manager; Vicki Porter, Bernard Campbell Middle School principal; Lila Raymond, Great Beginnings Early Education Center teacher; Lori Reed, Underwood Elementary teacher; Dianne Rennicke, Pleasant Lea Middle School teacher; Lou Jean Riley, Meadow Lane Elementary teacher; John Rohovit, Lee’s Summit North High School technology specialist; Sharon Rymer, Lee’s Summit High School Nutrition Services; Eric Sharp, Facilities HVAC control specialist; Gaye Sharp, Lee’s Summit High School teacher; Carin Smith, Woodland Elementary and Greenwood Elementary custodian; Mike Stevens, Sunset Valley Elementary teacher; Debbie Studt, Lee’s Summit North High School secretary; Lonnie Trujillo, Pleasant Lea Middle School teacher; Don White, Cedar Creek Elementary building manager; Lauri Wilson, Lee’s Summit North High School teacher; and O’Nell York, R-7 bus aide.

In addition to the district-wide event, retiring staff members will be recognized in the Lee’s Summit Journal’s “Tribute to R-7 Retiring Staff Members” special section, scheduled for distribution as part of a June 7 issue of the Lee’s Summit Journal.

Lee's Summit Journal is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service