Optimists recognize elementary “super citizens” for April

June 5, 2013 

Elementary student winners of the April Optimist Super Citizen Award were recognized recently at Lee’s Summit R-7 grade schools.

The award is presented monthly to students in R-7 elementary schools. Mason Elementary School conducts a monthly “Character Counts” awards program in cooperation with the Lake Lotawana Optimist Club, and these winners are recognized in separate articles.

Super Citizen winners are selected by teachers based on criteria set by the Optimist Club and the school staff. The award is usually based on the Optimist Creed, although each school’s staff may determine criteria for some months.

Students receive the award from Optimist members during either a PTA meeting or another school presentation. The Optimist Club is a local civic organization dedicated to youth. It meets weekly and is open to both men and women.

Winners (listed in order from kindergarten through sixth grade) are:

Cedar Creek: Abby Francka, Adam Bruns, Emily Shanahan, MacKenzie Blankenship, Will Wanashko, Hannah DeJong and Noah Kinder.

Greenwood: Bella Huston, Malorie Wiley, Joy Goehring, Drake Isreal, Anna Long, Hayden Hole and Kaley Kent.

Hawthorn Hill: A.J. Fain, Lincoln Tyler, Addison Foote, Lyla Martin, Brayden Barney, Kayla Busick and Aaron Feng.

Hazel Grove: Maddy Acton, Dawson Egger, Jada Newson, Jamie Trout, Erin Allen, Michelle Thomas and David Vest.

Highland Park: Maggie Gros, Julie Gannon, Brooklyn Vleisides, Paige Wilbert, Cale Parton, Haylee Steinhauser and Riley Nofziger.

Longview Farm: Skylor Fortin, Molly Touzinsky, Elena Smith, Reagan Breshears, Dylan Hertzler, Bridgette Secrist and Alex Medley.

Lee’s Summit: Xander Hedenkamp, Jada Conn, Malachi Mitchell, Gabby Conley, Tyler Williams, Kori Thomas and Payton Wright.

Meadow Lane: Fiona Boucher, Sabriyah Wright, Ella Bears, Chawntell Savage, Ali Fisher, Zach Kroah and Madison Hite.

Pleasant Lea: Annaliese Busse, Logan Stovall, McKynlee DeLay, Jayci Stowe, Katelyn Johnson, Sean Sinow and Nikki Alberts.

Prairie View: (Due to Prairie View’s large size, two Super Citizen Awards are presented in each grade level each month). First set: Xin Zou, Morgan Holohan, Jacob Jordan, Wade Smith Paxton Brown, Bethany Weigel and Devyn Saunders. Second set: Cadence Gerke, Stevie Kurtz, Isaac McBurney, Terrell Livingston, Matthew Crispin, Zane Ragland and Alenia Frazier.

Richardson: Tim Sebolt, Erin Davis, Ty Lunceford, Alexis Nunn, Graham Covington, Bryan Contreras and Addie Krull.

Sunset Valley: Hunter Rushton, Camden Borden, Aleigh Mefford, Zachary Mixon, Thomas Hayes, Tristan Wells and Jackson Wood.

Trailridge: Ryan Bonner, Kendra Sage, Kamryn Hinton, Mackenzie Kennicutt, Imani Gasaway, Julianna Kubayko and Alexis Martinez.

Underwood: Evelyn Chestnut, Cameran Cravens, Elonna Jersett, Lily Hunt, Hailie Donaldson, Dania Zaben and Donald Karl.

Westview: Cate Hardaway, Sienna Jones, Madison Kates, Jade Longbrake, Logen Myers, Anamaria Schur and Clayton Couch.

Woodland: Korryn Losey, Drew Dickerson, Madalyn Stidham, John Esquivel, Adi Bruton, Vince Schmalz and Amanda Franklin.

Students receive a certificate, an Optimist Super Citizen T-shirt and certificates for free gifts from local businesses. Parents of winners receive a bumper sticker stating “Parent of an Optimist Super Citizen.”

The award is sponsored by the Lee’s Summit Optimist Club. It is designed to recognize students with varied talents.

Lee's Summit Journal is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service