Optimists recognize elementary “super citizens” for March

June 5, 2013 

Elementary student winners of the March Optimist Super Citizen Award were recognized recently at Lee’s Summit R-7 grade schools.

The award is presented monthly to students in R-7 elementary schools. Mason Elementary School conducts a monthly “Character Counts” awards program in cooperation with the Lake Lotawana Optimist Club, and these winners are recognized in separate articles.

Super Citizen winners are selected by teachers based on criteria set by the Optimist Club and the school staff. The award is usually based on the Optimist Creed, although each school’s staff may determine criteria for some months.

Students receive the award from Optimist members during either a PTA meeting or another school presentation. The Optimist Club is a local civic organization dedicated to youth. It meets weekly and is open to both men and women.

Winners (listed in order from kindergarten through sixth grade) are:

Cedar Creek: Lila Burt, Peyton Owens, Carolanne Hendrix, Melanie Benner, Josh Tonga, Anthony Cain, Ben Travalent.

Greenwood: Mariah Brown, Ella Jones, Lynnsie Talley, Katie Carroll, Annelise Oster, Michael Lasley and Elliott Keys.

Hawthorn Hill: Madelyn Reed, Henry Lee, Addie Knapik, Jake Galloway, Christopher Sherman, Maddie Hogan and Jacob Logan.

Hazel Grove: Nehemiah Shaw, DaJuan Alvarez, Geneva Cowan, Milek Manney, Chase Connole, Brayden Priest and Lauren Tigner.

Highland Park: Grace Wood, Rodrigo Deleon, Ramiyah Alvarez, Nathan Weyrauch, Charlie Branham, Austyn Schuman and Jordan Turner.

Longview Farm: Lindsey Watson, Brooklyn Breshears, Olivia Grider, Whitney Farrington, Jordan Fields, Steffani Hill and Jillian Mize.

Lee’s Summit: Rory Boyle, Sophia Elbert, Mary Brooks, Zane Edgington, Carson Williams, Sierra Jones and Gabriella DeLeon Guerrero.

Meadow Lane: Parker Martin, Brooklyn Muckey, J.J. Bachman, Lilya Ngo, Emma Kesler, Lily Harris and Desiree Wattree.

Pleasant Lea: Stormie Murphy, Mara Bannister, Ryan Pelzer, Andrea Urbina, Morselina Martin, Caitlyn Riley and Arianna Harris.

Prairie View: (Due to Prairie View’s large size, two Super Citizen Awards are presented in each grade level each month). First set: Aidan O’Neal, Layla Cornwell, Jordan Wood, Matt Dreyer, Aiden Nyhus, Ethan Winger and Kyle Wayman. Second set: Kendall Wolf, Addison Smith, Aniyah Grant-Livingston, Kendall Esely, Davis Childs, Jonathan Marszalek and Ian Powell.

Richardson: Mia Ramos, Azure Wood, Lexie Nicholson, Ainsley Pickering, Keegan Marchant, Carter Pickering and Anthony George.

Summit Pointe: Ryleigh Geneser, Pyper Milner, Arnav Gannavaram, Riley McKinnis, Jamie Norris, Skyler Robinson and Jordyn England.

Sunset Valley: Reigh Williams, Keira Love, Isaiah Hamilton, Jackson Clouse, Avery Parsons, Mattison Thieverge and Gretchen Damotte.

Trailridge: Finley Eder, Austin Cox, Alexas Guerrero, Olivia Wiley, Skyler White, Marissa Ritchey and Alex Harvey.

Underwood: Kaylee Bonar, Emilia Ramanauskaite, Paige Moore, Sarah Keary, Tiffany Ford, Eli Sanford and Charlie Nord.

Westview: Isabella Bowlin, Dallon Knox-Boudreaux, Jacob Shade, Brandon Eubanks, Ana Dunning, Alyssa Barton and Angela Slates.

Woodland: Kyle Dugan, Karli Duncan, Katrina Hitchcock, Emma Diamond, Madelyn Johnson, Trevor Eastland and Avery Schieszer.

Students receive a certificate, an Optimist Super Citizen T-shirt and certificates for free gifts from local businesses. Parents of winners receive a bumper sticker stating “Parent of an Optimist Super Citizen.”

The award is sponsored by the Lee’s Summit Optimist Club. It is designed to recognize students with varied talents.

Lee's Summit Journal is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service