Optimists recognize elementary “Super Citizens” for September

October 30, 2013 

Elementary student winners of the September Optimist Super Citizen Award were recognized recently at Lee’s Summit R-7 grade schools.

The award is presented monthly to students in R-7 elementary schools. Mason Elementary School conducts a monthly “Character Counts” awards program in cooperation with the Lake Lotawana Optimist Club, and these winners are recognized in separate articles.

Super Citizen winners are selected by teachers based on criteria set by the Optimist Club and the school staff. The award is usually based on the Optimist Creed, although each school’s staff may determine criteria for some months.

Students receive the award from Optimist members during either a PTA meeting or another school presentation. The Optimist Club is a local civic organization dedicated to youth. It meets weekly and is open to both men and women.

Winners (listed in order from kindergarten through sixth grade) are:

Cedar Creek: Kat Odell, Dominic Mitchell, Ellyson Drake, Grace Zaun, Isabel Hamilton, Jake Grider and Gabby Garcia.

Greenwood: Ethan McCall, Logan Henry, Jonathan Scott, Brooklyn Wehner-Burton, Abigail Elrod, Abbi Ellerman and Colby Preston.

Hawthorn Hill: Kenedie Dillabough, Adee Broesder, Camryn Payton, Ryan Hall, Lacey Higgins, Kyle Startman and Baylee Honn.

Hazel Grove: Cole West, Ainsley Cowan, Aiden O’Dell, Evanne Riley, Jackson Huck, Garrett King and Stefanie Risner.

Highland Park: Eva Owens, Rylan Podschwit, Emery Lee, Lane Williams, Aidan Cronin, Axel Chavez Hernandez and Avery Morton.

Longview Farm: Cade Riggin, Daniel Wozniak, Makayla Myers, Kendall Watson, Maggie Slutter, Josh Morkert and Jordan Prejean.

Lee’s Summit: Olivia Meek, Adeline Herbert, Micah Mitchell, Alex Lynch, Angie Perkins, Joey Henry and Emily Welch.

Meadow Lane: Addyson Wyrick, Rickey Rockett, Leah Kammerdiener, Madisyn Wion, Kelsey Harrington, Halee Como-Durham and Triston Jones. Pleasant Lea: Lucy Nautt, Brylee Johnson, Jordy Urbina-Guardado, Brenna Bridge, Maddie Macha, Jordan Wood and Arianna White.

Prairie View: (Due to Prairie View’s large size, two Super Citizen Awards are presented in each grade level each month). First set: Eleianna Nugent, Jaqshua Yang, Lezlie Cervantes, Avery Sartain, Clinton Fields, Jackson Rhodes and Landon Cagle. Second set: Ben Smith, Callum Arnold, Aiden Bray, Joy Schuster, Drake Hancock, Cameron Lillard and Lorenzo Turney.

Richardson: Halle Davison, Garret Studer, David Millward, Delaney Caldwell, Matthew Will, Aubrey True and Kaley Bricker.

Summit Pointe: James Wilson, Carter Reeves, Avery Mertz, Ty Kuzniakowski, Brian Landon, Justin Anderson and Carson Peck.

Sunset Valley: Taylor Shanks, Megan Allison, Natalie Rouse, Colton Gamble, Hannah Nierman, Seth Kenyon and Brady Zeiler.

Trailridge: Bailey Yokley, Laura Mayo, Nico Prather, Kenedi VanRoss, Dylan Parris, Kyler Gher and Mia Sparks.

Underwood: Patrick Hull, Lisette Cantrell, Samantha Nastasio, Hope Hart, Joseph Presnell, Hannah Wilhite and Emily Huangal.

Westview: Makensi Scharff, Shawn Drummond, Rylie Wilkerson, Jeanette Jordan, Goldie Hoy, Zach Davis and Ruben Martinez.

Woodland: Jordan Cox, Seth Greenwald, Juda Scott, Madison Moore, Max Woodman, Nyah Gale and Blaze Yearby.

Students receive a certificate, an Optimist Super Citizen T-shirt and certificates for free gifts from local businesses. Parents of winners receive a bumper sticker stating “Parent of an Optimist Super Citizen.”

The award is sponsored by the Lee’s Summit Optimist Club. It is designed to recognize students with varied talents.

Lee's Summit Journal is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service