Optimists recognize elementary "super citizens" for October

December 13, 2013 

Elementary student winners of the October Optimist Super Citizen Award were recognized recently at Lee’s Summit R-7 grade schools.

The award is presented monthly to students in R-7 elementary schools. Mason Elementary School conducts a monthly “Character Counts” awards program in cooperation with the Lake Lotawana Optimist Club, and these winners are recognized in separate articles.

Super Citizen winners are selected by teachers based on criteria set by the Optimist Club and the school staff. The award is usually based on the Optimist Creed, although each school’s staff may determine criteria for some months.

Students receive the award from Optimist members during either a PTA meeting or another school presentation. The Optimist Club is a local civic organization dedicated to youth. It meets weekly and is open to both men and women.

Winners (listed in order from kindergarten through sixth grade) are:

Cedar Creek: Collin Parker, Brooklyn Visconti, Erion Brooks, Ethan Fleming, Matthew Kimaku, Caleb Thompson and Zach Calder.

Greenwood: Austin Seaboldt, Brooklyn Green, Dalton Wilson, Tayt Norman, Madelyn Songer, Chloe Carmen and Dylan Hasch.

Hawthorn Hill: Samuel Ninemire, Saryah Buford, Bren Rodebush, Tait Cox, Mayme Kennedy, Dawson Young and Brandyss Sherman-Hall.

Hazel Grove: Aiden Brooks, Allie Hopfinger, Grant Enyeart, McKensie Shafer, Amaya McCray, Cody Steinbrugge and Ravion Shephard.

Highland Park: Angel Cortes-Flores, Logan Nieznajko, Adrian Hale, Carter Wainwright, Kennedy Cronin, Emma Miller and Ryan Belt.

Longview Farm: Clara Kueny, Elliot Graham, Sami Mann, Tyler Ruf, Holly Manz, Garrett Smith and Aubree Johnston.

Lee’s Summit: Hanaa Abdulhamid, Lillian Stout, Katelynne James, Emma Nelson, Amari Childs, Jared Sprinkle and Morgan Hecker.

Meadow Lane: Aubrey Westbrook, Jude Ellis, Carter Gulick, Spencer Vaka, Mitchell Kilgore, Alex Maupin and Connor Lepper.

. Pleasant Lea: David Perez Lopez, Jade Marquez, Amya Sukaromya, Jada Williams, Madison Mears, Mallory Butler and Darrias Pearsall.

Prairie View: (Due to Prairie View’s large size, two Super Citizen Awards are presented in each grade level each month). First set: Ethan Holmberg, Alyson Dingle, Terry Luo, Maximiliano Olvera Zavala, Annika Simmons, Hunter McGuire and Amari Conn. Second set: Braden Askeland, Jayla Souder, George Ballewag, Dalanda Hepel, Landen Shepard, Laney Zornes and Jacob Neal.

Richardson: Taylor Nicholson, Mitchell Nipper, Niko Myers, Lauren Sharpe, Anderson Visconti, Laney Watson and Jane Bromley.

Summit Pointe: Duncan Hutson, Kate Keisker, Stella Smith, Wyatt Fredrickson, Elana Stoehr, Dera Okafor and Aryn Stein.

Sunset Valley: Ava Smidt, Tate Alexander, Derek Robb, Addison Zeiler, Emma Craig, Heather Santiago and Alexander Barnett.

Trailridge: Olivia Potter, Dreyton Snow, Emily Wilson, Cayden Anderson, Katherine O’Brien, Xander Phillips and Sierra Lewis.

Underwood: Leo Hillbrand, Jackson Talley, Colton Baxter, Abby Mangiameli, Seth Simpson, Preston Wieland and Braydon Singleton.

Westview: Sara Shawbaker, Sophia Armstrong, Blake Shamp, Jordan Cooley, Mackenzie Heeney, Rigley Clelland and Joe Carr.

Woodland: Luke Nally, Dawson Strem, Samantha Pond, Cole Butler, Luke Braun, Morgan Sanders and Gage Thompson.

Students receive a certificate, an Optimist Super Citizen T-shirt and certificates for free gifts from local businesses. Parents of winners receive a bumper sticker stating “Parent of an Optimist Super Citizen.”

The award is sponsored by the Lee’s Summit Optimist Club. It is designed to recognize students with varied talents.

Lee's Summit Journal is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service