Optimists recognize elementary "super citizens" for November

December 25, 2013 

Elementary student winners of the November Optimist Super Citizen Award were recognized recently at Lee’s Summit R-7 grade schools.

The award is presented monthly to students in R-7 elementary schools. Mason Elementary School conducts a monthly “Character Counts” awards program in cooperation with the Lake Lotawana Optimist Club, and these winners are recognized in separate articles.

Super Citizen winners are selected by teachers based on criteria set by the Optimist Club and the school staff. The award is usually based on the Optimist Creed, although each school’s staff may determine criteria for some months.

Students receive the award from Optimist members during either a PTA meeting or another school presentation. The Optimist Club is a local civic organization dedicated to youth. It meets weekly and is open to both men and women.

Winners (listed in order from kindergarten through sixth grade) are:

Cedar Creek: Jane Hough, Jane Meyer, Makenna Shackelford, Elsa Thompson, Blair Prstojevich, Sophia Ré and Lily Braton.

Greenwood: Maddox Hess, Chase Tweedie, Alaina Garcia, Sierra Gutierrez, Izzie Long, Garret Lanning and Noah Yarborough.

Hawthorn Hill: Jazzlyn Spires, Kamryn McDonald, Connor Pinkley, Nick Sullivan, Patrick Isbell, Brennan Mowery and Lanie Barrows.

Hazel Grove: Gavin Cunniffe, Reese Bradford, Charleston Selley, Serenti Kreisel, Daniya Taylor, Serena Springer and Gracie Enyeart.

Highland Park: Carson Kueser, Caroline Huffington, Adriana Benassi, Makyna Daugherty, Selena Urquizo, Lena Nguyen and Hannah Westphal.

Longview Farm: Annabel Carney, Gracie Charpie, Charlotte Brownlee, Anna Barfield, Madeline Sparks, Jillian Guhr and Kaylee Herrman.

Lee’s Summit: Xander Kinch, Kalypso Carter, Alicia Chavez, Hayden Molina, TeeTee Johnson, Katie Dustin and Taylor Hemphill.

Meadow Lane: Bella Yartz, Emma Johnson, Micah Scott, Bryson Elliott, Cale Noggle, Justice DuBois and C.J. Gilbert.

. Pleasant Lea: Kaden Bramble, Derebe Carr, Lily Ullery, Samantha Turnage, Andrew Yang, Alana Rogers and Sophia Spallo.

Prairie View: (Due to Prairie View’s large size, two Super Citizen Awards are presented in each grade level each month). First set: Jabari Howard, Kaiya McDonald, Alexa Iniguez, Carter Davis, Zorana Tica, Rachael Harraman and Jeremy Sanchez. Second set: Lauren Cross, Sam Glasco, Tessa Reinhardt, Abigail Vaske, Jacob Martin, Josh Walker and Micah Scott.

Richardson: Presli Houk, Avery Cox, Alaina Henks, Tyson Ekiss, Olivia King, Tyler Dailey and Max Sabata.

Summit Pointe: Lauren Barber, Edozie Amaonye, Dylan Haines, Jackson Brink, Shelby Galeassi, Erin Cutler and Sammie McGinn.

Sunset Valley: Kaiya Iboaya, Addison Conrad, Jaydan Gipson, Briana Crites, Avery Arnold, Zeke Duncan and Eric McKinney.

Trailridge: Blake Bonner, Kinslee Mitchell, Lance Heller, Harper Barnard, Reagan Brooks, Garrett Reinwald and Brennon Warrick.

Underwood: Emma Salter, Gracie Hart, Zane Nowlin, Brianna Kirkpatrick, Maleah Grayson, Faith Hart and Megan Snyder.

Westview: Kylan Bolin, Keegan Tague, Kaylei Stahl-Winch, Jaiden Carter, Braden Hodges, Kelsey Ferguson and Austin Kendrick.

Woodland: Hailey Wyatt, Blaire Borchert, Payton May, Trista Brooks, Navia Sanders, Jordan Wilson and Emmy Prasil.

Students receive a certificate, an Optimist Super Citizen T-shirt and certificates for free gifts from local businesses. Parents of winners receive a bumper sticker stating “Parent of an Optimist Super Citizen.”

The award is sponsored by the Lee’s Summit Optimist Club. It is designed to recognize students with varied talents.

Lee's Summit Journal is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service