Optimists recognize elementary “super citizens” for December

January 8, 2014 

Elementary student winners of the December Optimist Super Citizen Award were recognized recently at Lee’s Summit R-7 grade schools.

The award is presented monthly to students in R-7 elementary schools. Mason Elementary School conducts a monthly “Character Counts” awards program in cooperation with the Lake Lotawana Optimist Club, and these winners are recognized in separate articles.

Super Citizen winners are selected by teachers based on criteria set by the Optimist Club and the school staff. The award is usually based on the Optimist Creed, although each school’s staff may determine criteria for some months.

Students receive the award from Optimist members during either a PTA meeting or another school presentation. The Optimist Club is a local civic organization dedicated to youth. It meets weekly and is open to both men and women.

Winners (listed in order from kindergarten through sixth grade) are:

Cedar Creek: Brendan Burns, Addy Ward, Adam Niemeyer, Meena Gehrke, Adrienne Rhodes, Alana Poland and Cooper Carr.

Greenwood: Emily Hankins, Madison Cross, Seth Hooper, Kassidy Smith, Marissa Castellano, Cash Merriam and Morgan Jones.

Hawthorn Hill: Chloe Kegley, Ally Cross, Ava Smith, Sophia Eyre, Kasey Newsome, Makenzie Powell and Grace Lueth.

Hazel Grove: Lucas Jurgensmeyer, Charlie Kendall, Chase Clark, Sam Billcisen, Garrett Kyser, Reggie Ford and Kareem Taylor.

Highland Park: Bella Johnson, Charlie Parker, Mikhail Jones, Madyson Wheatley, Kurtis Craven, Brennan Crowley and Molly Davis.

Longview Farm: Sarah McKinney, Miles Rosenthal, Maya Johnson, Ellie Curp, Madison Webber, Molly Andrews and Tucker Thompson.

Lee’s Summit: Ashley Duncan, Korvin Hill, Sienna Johnson, Malachi Mitchell, Alyssa Williams, Niseme Brewer and Aaliyah Muhammad.

Meadow Lane: Nina King, Kyla Braesch, Lucy Witmer, Kaylee Winningham, Connor Fohn, Tabitha Brooks and Angi Haggard.

. Pleasant Lea: Morgan Clark, Jayden Sumler, Will Suits, Karson Ruehling, Gavin Gilpin, Tia Shrout and Isabelle Howayek.

Prairie View: (Due to Prairie View’s large size, two Super Citizen Awards are presented in each grade level each month). First set: Amber Dumler, Keegan Adams, Meadow Lepert, Alyssa Dennis, Kayla Cotterman, J’Aire Frierson and Perla Garcia-Tapia. Second set: Alyssa Nichols, Ava Saylors, Lily Uberroth, Abby Oldham, Autumn Brown, Mary Klene and Sophia Ward.

Richardson: Elise McFarlane, Gabe Lewis, Erin Davis, Aspen Wood, Sena Johnson, Dillan Yeisley and Megan Feeney.

Summit Pointe: Leo Beard, Kylah Boyer, Grace Lucas, Sara Tennyson, Hannah Bollinger, Gabrielle Butler and Anna Williams.

Sunset Valley: Asher Taylor, Nick Dawson, Jaylon Dunn, Eden Prather, Anna Murphy, Sierra Adkins and Aliana Pace.

Trailridge: Jacob Hill, Lucas Payne, Connor Ackerman, Jayden Russell, Laila Johnson, Keisha Kodidhi and Grace Swan.

Underwood: Brianna Houle, Luke Rowden, Zach Gaylord, Alliana Hogeland, Kail Mattis, Maria Smith and Seth Jarvis.

Westview: Anna Burnett, Kate Carr, Lizzie Lindmark, Bailey Hein, Zach Garver, Dakota Winslow and Draven Snyder.

Woodland: Sophie Terry, Jaymes Thompson, Samantha Coomes, Kinley Monk, Tino Lauer, Christy Boyken and Jessica Vaughn.

Students receive a certificate, an Optimist Super Citizen T-shirt and certificates for free gifts from local businesses. Parents of winners receive a bumper sticker stating “Parent of an Optimist Super Citizen.”

The award is sponsored by the Lee’s Summit Optimist Club. It is designed to recognize students with varied talents.

Lee's Summit Journal is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service