LSHS debate team captures awards at Fort Osage tournament

January 22, 2014 

Lee’s Summit High School debate team members captured awards at the Fort Osage tournament, held Jan. 10 and 11.

LSHS winners included Johnny Christy and Tyler Behymer, first place, Varsity Policy Debate; Johnny Christy, first place, Open Extemporaneous Speaking; Wayne Jordan, third place, Varsity Lincoln-Douglas Debate; Emily Sparks and Sophia Sexton, third place, Novice Policy Debate; Ben Williamson and Brayden King, third place, Novice Policy Debate; Sean Atkins and Brandt Beauchamp, fourth place, Novice Policy Debate; Alex Brooks, fourth place, Open Congressional Debate; and Johnny Christy, seventh place, Open Original Oratory.

Lee's Summit Journal is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service