Optimists recognize elementary “super citizens” for February

March 12, 2014 

Elementary student winners of the February Optimist Super Citizen Award were recognized recently at Lee’s Summit R-7 grade schools.

The award is presented monthly to students in R-7 elementary schools.

Mason Elementary School conducts a monthly “Character Counts” awards program in cooperation with the Lake Lotawana Optimist Club, and these winners are recognized in separate articles.

Super Citizen winners are selected by teachers based on criteria set by the Optimist Club and the school staff.

The award is usually based on the Optimist Creed, although each school’s staff may determine criteria for some months.

Students receive the award from Optimist members during either a PTA meeting or another school presentation. The Optimist Club is a local civic organization dedicated to youth. It meets weekly and is open to both men and women.

Winners (listed in order from kindergarten through sixth grade) are:

Cedar Creek: Brady Mahanes, Jack Allen, Tyler Anderson, Dakotah Decker, Quin Savlin, Isaiah Jennings and Josh Butler.

Greenwood: Layla Gasimalla, West Wood, Thalia Roberts, Jared Robinson, Carmen Morasch, Joey Valenziano and Zach Earnest.

Hawthorn Hill: Ian Cronhardt, Keira Alexander, Tré Fensom, Amelia Bassett, Chase Greeninger, Kylie Haas and Reis Scannell .

Hazel Grove:Christiana Ponds, Jaiesha Dixon, KéMontae Phillips, Kolten Doutt-Eichenger, Maddie Markley, Isabella Nall and Bailey Tabaracci.

Highland Park: Makenna Larsen, Gracie Weissman, Malena Hug, Natalie Perez, Enrique Noriega, Leo Chavez and Erin Johnson.

Longview Farm: Lacey Smith, Ben Shults, Madi Overton, Ryan Cox, Maya Krishnan, Gracee Vanarsdale and Zachary Watson.

Lee’s Summit: Trinity Schick, Anya Spangler, Jenna Heafner, Nick Sprinkle, Johan Muhammad, Kennedy McCollum and Sara Young.

Meadow Lane: Malachi Scott, Ariauna Caldwell, Persia Anderson, Colin Johnson, Aamirah Wright, Alandra Jones and Parker Bruce..

. Pleasant Lea: Patricia Deida Reyes, Mila Hawkins, Kenny Perez, Caya Vendelin, Karson Bedenbender, Katy Lebermann and Rylie Jo Anderson.

Prairie View: (Due to Prairie View’s large size, two Super Citizen Awards are presented in each grade level each month). First set: Gabby Fisher, Navaeh Davis, Leah Cooley, Anna Latman, Bo Nkeeh, Abby Gibson and Xiana Zou. Second set: Haylee Jeffries, Samantha Gouldsmith, Emily Burris, Luke Jordan, Gavin Glotta, Paxton Brown and Destiny Davis.

Richardson: Olivia Keithley, Greyson Cooper, Tyler Helland, Giana Gibilisco, Alexa Smock, Daniel Ohanesian and Carson Ebert .

Summit Pointe: Olivia Graham, Zander Hauck, Owen Liang, Brady Simpson, Tristen Hoots, Adalynn Wade and Caleb Palmer.

Sunset Valley: Jasmine Garciga, Brihanna Harris, Cody Smith, Emily Pace, Nora Bott, Micah Debban and Jordan Bresette.

Trailridge: Vandin Bennefeld, Cameron Yows, Owen Pomeroy, Joshua Jackson, Dewey Gibson, Logan Hickman and Hailey Kornis.

Underwood: Retzy Phemister, Chloe Stanford, Jason Kalaitzidis, Cameron Wilcox, Julia Davis, Joe Engle and Hannah Berry.

Westview: Zoe Adams, Kolbe Ward, Casey Hodges, Isabella Noel, Maddox Maghirang, Jaquez Leslie and Shelby Morrow.

Woodland: Kane Cox, Kaitlyn Bradley, Savannah Watkins, Nevaeh Keever, Savino Garcia, Aidan Kelly and Blake Lilly.

Students receive a certificate, an Optimist Super Citizen T-shirt and certificates for free gifts from local businesses. Parents of winners receive a bumper sticker stating “Parent of an Optimist Super Citizen.”

The award is sponsored by the Lee’s Summit Optimist Club. It is designed to recognize students with varied talents.

Lee's Summit Journal is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service