Optimists recognize elementary "super citizens" for January

March 12, 2014 

Elementary student winners of the January Optimist Super Citizen Award were recognized recently at Lee’s Summit R-7 grade schools.

The award is presented monthly to students in R-7 elementary schools.

Mason Elementary School conducts a monthly “Character Counts” awards program in cooperation with the Lake Lotawana Optimist Club, and these winners are recognized in separate articles.

Super Citizen winners are selected by teachers based on criteria set by the Optimist Club and the school staff.

The award is usually based on the Optimist Creed, although each school’s staff may determine criteria for some months.

Students receive the award from Optimist members during either a PTA meeting or another school presentation. The Optimist Club is a local civic organization dedicated to youth. It meets weekly and is open to both men and women.

Winners (listed in order from kindergarten through sixth grade) are:

Cedar Creek: Warren Diefenbacher, Julianna Belzeski, Talan Williams, Addi Baker, Delaney Boulden, Marlena Davis and Jesse West.

Greenwood: Jared George, Brett Pearson, Cadence Huffman, Keira Eichelkraut, Evan Kropunske, Anna Eulinger and Ciara O’Hara.

Hawthorn Hill: Brian Feng, Brian Bett, McKinley Robb, Justin Andrews, Isabella Nunez, McKenna Bell and Madelyn McGovern.

Hazel Grove: Drake Brownsberger, Eleanor Sullivan, Paige Temple, Riley DeShay, Drew Fleury, Olivia Oppenheimer and Emma Cothran.

Highland Park: Ethan Guenther, Ben Emerson, Elizabeth Ravasini, Ethan Cha, Grace Davis, Trey Davis and Eghosa Ogbevoen.

Longview Farm: Tavner Nance, Ruby Hartwig, Evan Davis, Jalen Frazier, Noah Strout, Selah Diedericks and Mia Page.

Lee’s Summit: Joey Brown, Dahvian Starchman, Matthew Carney, Dru Harmon and Trevor Baker.

Meadow Lane: Grant Vinson, Owen Snead, Amanda Neal, Sam Ash, Bruce Burgo, Breani Winston and Jaquelin Perez.

. Pleasant Lea: Kristen Johnson, Reid Meyers, Om Padhy, Ryan Pelzer, Grace Benedict, Maya Wood and Benny Sides.

Prairie View: (Due to Prairie View’s large size, two Super Citizen Awards are presented in each grade level each month). First set: Lily Fredlund, Sarah Hashemi, Mary Kathryne Schouten, Alex Hampton, Jager Johnson, Cameron Lillard and Makayla Holmberg. Second set: Trenton Oldham, Dylan Esely, Cassidy Smock, Qusai Hijaz, Ava Whitney, Joseph Throneberry and Daniella Archdekin.

Richardson: Conrad Kuhn, Kate Gerding, Miles Goodman, Zackary Coetzee, Aaron Little, Morgan McGurk and Sydney Allen.

Summit Pointe: Sharalee Agrawal, Taylor Fitzgerl, Killian Wright, Fineas Howser, Shelby Galeassi, Tess Cook and Ishmael Brown.

Sunset Valley: William Givens, Jaxon Taylor, William Held, Adisin Ismert, Zach Gilmore, Brendan Fromme and Zaria Jackson.

Trailridge: Keira Willis, Aaditya Jadhav, Lauren Kraenow, Markus Smith, Abbie Leslie, Kaylee Briscoe and Cooper Hannah.

Underwood: Morgan Hill, Cuba Ferguson, Caleb Hankins, Alliana Hogeland, Jason Barnett, Hannah Wilhite and Ava Hammons.

Westview: Mylee Parish, Ethan McGuire, Kyla Engle, Gabe Thalheim, Brigham Lawson, Naji Aburas and Cade Peetoom.

Woodland: Teagan Wisniewski, Aaron Maxwell, Oliva Sharp, Brent Maurer, Ali Mathes, Adi Bruton and Anatasia Moore.

Students receive a certificate, an Optimist Super Citizen T-shirt and certificates for free gifts from local businesses. Parents of winners receive a bumper sticker stating “Parent of an Optimist Super Citizen.”

The award is sponsored by the Lee’s Summit Optimist Club. It is designed to recognize students with varied talents.

Lee's Summit Journal is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service