Tiger Broadcast brings home national awards

April 2, 2014 

LSHS students receiving awards were, from left, RayLynn Emry-Callahan, Gretchen Shackelford and Tessa Shrout.


Three Lee’s Summit High School broadcasting students captured national awards at the Student Television Network Convention, held during March in Orlando, Fla.

Winners from Lee’s Summit High are Tessa Shrout, Gretchen Shackelford and RayLynn Emry-Callahan.

The students competed alongside more than 2,000 broadcast students from around the country. LSHS students won in the areas of best news production, best news bureau and first honorable mention for the Sweet 16 contest.

During the Sweet 16 contest, the three LSHS students produced a website, a news package, a news article, a photo gallery, staff profiles, tweets and other communications during 16 hours. The three LSHS students placed alongside other high schools competing in the same contest with more than 14 students on the other high schools’ teams.

Lee's Summit Journal is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service