LSWHS students capture national awards

April 2, 2014 

LSWHS students at the Student Television Network Convention.


Several Lee’s Summit West High School students captured national awards at the Student Television Network Convention, held March 20-22 in Orlando, Fla. A total of 27 LSWHS students attended the national convention, which included around 2,000 broadcast students from throughout the United States.

Elise Blegen won first place in commentary, and Madi Turner won second place in live reporting. Aubrey White and David Padget won third place for silent film. Brett Dempski, Riley Unruh and Jerod Myers won honorable mention for commercial. Logan Triplett, Aubrey White and Isaiah Farr won for best set design. In addition, Titan TV staff won first place for web convergence.

Lee's Summit Journal is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service