Broncos’ Root selected Suburban Gold player of the year

June 16, 2017 

Lee’s Summit North senior Justin Root was selected player of the year in the Suburban Gold Conference. Root was picked first-team all-conference at first base and second-team as a pitcher.

FRED POESE — Special to the Journal

Justin Root of Lee’s Summit North was selected player of the year and was one of three Broncos named to the first team on the Suburban Gold Conference all-conference baseball teams released this week.

Root, a senior infielder/pitcher, was picked as the first baseman on the first team. Joining him from the Broncos were senior outfielder Hayden Bradford and senior pitcher Gunnar Gronberg. Root was also named to the second team as a pitcher.

Conference champion and Class 5 state tournament qualifier Lee’s Summit had two first-team selections: senior outfielder Dalton Hill and senior pitcher Dalen Blair. Senior first baseman Ben Lock was named to the second team along with senior outfielder Zavian Hill and junior third baseman Jason Kostelnick.

Lee’s Summit West had three second-team selections in junior second baseman Philip Brooks, senior outfielder Ben McClain and senior pitcher Alex Stanghor.

Also named to the first team were Allante Hall, catcher, Blue Springs South; Mark Walker, second baseman, Blue Springs South; Andrew Houston, shortstop, Raymore-Peculiar: Liam Henry, outfielder, Park Hill; Ray Paniagua, outfielder, Blue Springs; Luke Smith, utility, Blue Springs; and Jake Lufft, pitcher, Blue Springs.

Second-team selections included Caleb Marquez, catcher, Blue Springs; Chase Collum, second baseman, Park Hill; Tyler Watson, shortstop, Park Hill; David Latlip, outfielder, Blue Springs South; David Thompson, utility, Raymore-Peculiar; and Brandt Lightner, pitcher, Blue Springs South.

Honorable mention selections were first basemen Garret McGowen, Blue Springs; Jarrod Brooks, Ray-Pec; and Trevor Kardell, Lee’s Summit West; shortstops Oscar Medrano, Lee’s Summit North and Austin Polina, Lee’s Summit; third basemen Cole Taylor, Lee’s Summit West and Cale Sackewitz, Blue Springs South; outfielders Sean Johnson, Lee’s Summit North; Derek Mammen, Blue Springs South; Jared Ravencamp, Blue Springs South and Brennan Glaze, Lee’s Summit West; utility Trevor Guzzo, Park Hill; and pitchers Nick Brandner, Blue Springs; Jake Beauchamp, Ray-Pec; Brandon Carvan, Ray-Pec; Andrew Simms, Blue Springs South; Ryan McMahan, Blue Springs and Liam Henry, Park Hill.

Lee's Summit Journal is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service